For a better experience on Leadership Cayman, UPDATE YOUR BROWSER


2018 Leadership Cayman Class Meet at Orientation Dinner

16 Jan 2018

The 2018 Leadership Cayman class met for the first time this month at an Orientation Dinner held at The Wharf Restaurant.

First launched in 2009, Leadership Cayman is a six-month programme that enables participants to acquire an in-depth view of social, economic, business, and political issues; enhance their leadership skills; and to get involved in community projects.

The class attend a series of bi-weekly lectures on a range of different topics (e.g. immigration, financial services) and converse with expert guest speakers, including industry professionals, community leaders and Government officials.

The programme is designed to encourage enrolled members to learn more about their community and give them encouragement to take an active role in the community moving forward.

Pamela Ebanks-Small, the Programme Chair, welcomed the incoming class and officially introduced them to Leadership Cayman. She spoke in detail about the purpose of the programme, and what the class members could expect for the upcoming months.

Incoming Chamber President, Paul Byles, offered his welcome on behalf of the Council. As a past member of the programme, he encouraged the new class to enjoy every moment of the upcoming year.

“The first even for the 2018 Leadership Cayman class was a very successful one,” said Ms. Ebanks-Small.

“I look forward to learning and growing with this dynamic group of individuals.”

The class also engaged in a number of ice-breaker games to get to know one another better, and met with the programme’s Planning Committee.

The class will next meet at the programme’s Opening Retreat at the end of the month.

The 25 individuals included in this year’s class include:

  • Jamaal Anderson (Cayman Islands Government, Cabinet Office)
  • Antonette Baptist (RBC Royal Bank Ltd.)
  • Rayal Bodden (Cayman Islands National Credit Bureau Ltd.)
  • Ravi Campbell (Dart Enterprises Ltd.)
  • Candice Czeremuszkin (Kinetic Partners Cayman LLP)
  • Felicia Deslandes (Caribbean Utilities Company)
  • Jeremy Durston (Campbells)
  • Chrystal Edwards (Progressive Distributors Ltd.)
  • Mideya Elliott (Cayman National Corporation)
  • Denise Gower (Fountainhead, Chamber Councillor)
  • John Hazard (Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort)
  • Grant Hiley (Deloitte)
  • Suzanne Klein (Self-employed)
  • Adam Lambert (Zimtra Assessment Management SEZC)
  • Sandra Malcolm (Office of the Auditor General)
  • Patricia Mendez (Cayman Islands Government)
  • Jeremy Moore (Cayman International School)
  • Cassandra Morris (Cayman Islands Department of Tourism)
  • Daniel Murphy (AL Thompson)
  • Brian O’Reilly (Greenlight RE)
  • Jenna Pooley (Strategic Risk Solutions Ltd.)
  • Ounesh Reebye (Wheaton Precious Metals)
  • Ariana Seales (Appleby)
  • Alexandra Simonova (Deloitte)
  • Nicole Thompson (Ministry of Education, Youth, Sports, Agriculture & Lands)